2020 EV Awards – nominations have now closed

The EV Awards recognise the knowledge, capabilities, and commitment of GP Training Practices, Supervisors, and Registrar across Eastern Victoria.

Thank you to all who nominated in the 2020 EV Awards. The Awards Advisory Group will review each nomination and announce the winners in November 2020.

2019 EV Award Winners

2019 Supervisors of the Year

Metropolitan - Dr Terence Heng, Nunawading Clinic

Dr Terence HengTerence is a dedicated educator and mentor to both current and past registrars who have worked at his practice. He is an innovative teacher and uses technology platforms to discuss interesting cases and learning points with learners. He is well respected within his community and much loved GP to his patients. Through his work, Terence shows both the medical community and the public that General Practitioners are able to manage a wide breadth of presentations to a very high standard, improving the image of General Practice.


Rural - Dr Lloyd Waters, Clocktower Medical Centre, Sale.

Dr Lloyd WatersLloyd has been supervising registrars for over 18 years. He has dedicated his time and passion to the teaching of junior doctors – over 52 registrars. He has also worked with remedial registrars to ensure that they continue their education and training, and successfully achieve Fellowship. His approach to supervising is holistic and always very thorough providing registrars with excellent support. Lloyd is a dedicated and passionate supervisor, one who is committed to the future training of rural GPs.


2019 Registrars of the Year

General Pathway - Dr Thomas Dickson

Dr Thomas DicksonThomas was nominated whilst working at Richmond Medical.

Thomas has a clear and definitive commitment to the community and patient care. He has continuously demonstrated an empathetic and genuine care for individual patients. Thomas has an extensive knowledge and is passionate about his special interests – sexual health and mental health. His contribution to the profession is evident in the level of care he delivers. Tom places the patient at the centre of their own care, he supports, encourages and engages patients with a focus on their individual needs and lifestyle. His demeanour and manner coupled with his professionalism have improved patient engagement and outcomes.

Rural Pathway - Dr Hannah Barry

Dr Hannah BarryHannah was nominated whilst working at Gippsland and East Gippsland Aboriginal Co-op Ltd Medical and Dental Service and Macleod Street Medical Centre.

Hannah brings knowledge and understanding of health needs to engage with the community she is working in. Her passion to assist, learn and help communities is shown through her health care with each patient. She has involved herself in services and further training in diabetes, reproductive health and sexual health to help with closing the gap. She also builds a bond and trust with community members and is particularly skilled at understanding their health needs. Hannah leadership with all staff is strong, from working with Aboriginal Health workers to support with their training of clinical education and health promotion, to support and participation with staff on Health promotion days.

2018 EV Award Winners

2018 Supervisor of the Year

Metropolitan - Dr Niroshe Amarasekera, Carnegie Medical Centre

Dr Niroshe AmarasekeraNiroshe is a passionate advocate for medical education since attaining Fellowship in 2013. Niroshe was instrumental in exciting her practice about the potential of Registrar Training, going through the initial EV practice accreditation and has taken on the role of primary supervisor. She models outstanding principals, and values as a GP as well as exemplary administration practices and protocols. She sets a wonderful example to GP registrars.



Rural - Dr John Hackett, Wonthaggi Medical Group

Dr John Hackett

John is a dedicated and passionate educator and supervisor. He provides excellent support to registrars, has developed various programs which registrars can participate in and is a fabulous mentor and role model. John is involved in a wide range of activities within his profession including teaching medical students and undertaking research. In addition he has initiated a number of community health programs.



2018 Registrar of the Year

General Pathway Joint Winner – Dr Andrew Rawlin

Dr Andrew RawlinAndrew has embraced his role as a GP and has made a lasting impression with his colleagues and patients. He is confident, flexible, willing to take on anything put to him, and has a strong desire to contribute. Involving himself in the different aspects of the training program shows a commitment to ensuring that the profession continues to meet the needs of registrars. Andrew is a wonderful team player and treats others in the community as valued, important and worthy.



General Pathway Joint Winner – Dr Pallavi Prathivadi

Dr Pallavi PrathivadiPallavi is a passionate and dedicated registrar committed to encouraging routine evidence-based practice. She has incorporated a number of interests into her training and is involved in a variety of professional development projects and research projects. Pallavi is a life-long learner and truly enjoys studying, the pursuit of knowledge and exciting others about the potential of medicine and science.



Rural Pathway - Dr Romey Giles

Romey is an enthusiastic registrar who is keen to explore and learn new skills. A good self-motivated learner who motivates others to learn. Romey has taken on various leadership roles as part of her training and provides great support to her registrar colleagues. She has also identified health needs in the community and gained extra training in those areas. She has embraced life in regional Victoria with the same energy she shows at work.