2019 EV Award Winners

The response to the EV Awards program was fantastic. Nominations were received from throughout our region recognising our supervisors and registrars and the exceptional work they do.

2019 Supervisors of the Year

Dr Terence Heng

2019 EV Supervisor of the Year – Metropolitan
Dr Terence Heng, Nunawading Clinic

Terence is a dedicated educator and mentor to both current and past registrars who have worked at his practice. He is an innovative teacher and uses technology platforms to discuss interesting cases and learning points with learners. He is well respected within his community and much loved GP to his patients. Through his work, Terence shows both the medical community and the public that General Practitioners are able to manage a wide breadth of presentations to a very high standard, improving the image of General Practice.

Dr Lloyd Waters

2019 EV Supervisor of the Year – Rural
Dr Lloyd Waters, Clocktower Medical Centre, Sale.

Lloyd has been supervising registrars for over 18 years. He has dedicated his time and passion to the teaching of junior doctors – over 52 registrars. He has also worked with remedial registrars to ensure that they continue their education and training, and successfully achieve Fellowship. His approach to supervising is holistic and always very thorough providing registrars with excellent support. Lloyd is a dedicated and passionate supervisor, one who is committed to the future training of rural GPs.

2019 Registrars of the Year

Dr Thomas Dickson

2019 EV Registrar of the Year – General Pathway 

Dr Thomas Dickson
Thomas was nominated whilst working at Richmond Medical.

Thomas has a clear and definitive commitment to the community and patient care. He has continuously demonstrated an empathetic and genuine care for individual patients. Thomas has an extensive knowledge and is passionate about his special interests – sexual health and mental health. His contribution to the profession is evident in the level of care he delivers. Tom places the patient at the centre of their own care, he supports, encourages and engages patients with a focus on their individual needs and lifestyle. His demeanour and manner coupled with his professionalism have improved patient engagement and outcomes.

Dr Hannah Barry

2019 EV Registrar of the Year – Rural Pathway

Dr Hannah Barry
Hannah was nominated whilst working at Gippsland and East Gippsland Aboriginal Co-op Ltd Medical and Dental Service and Macleod Street Medical Centre.

Hannah brings knowledge and understanding of health needs to engage with the community she is working in. Her passion to assist, learn and help communities is shown through her health care with each patient. She has involved herself in services and further training in diabetes, reproductive health and sexual health to help with closing the gap. She also builds a bond and trust with community members and is particularly skilled at understanding their health needs. Hannah leadership with all staff is strong, from working with Aboriginal Health workers to support with their training of clinical education and health promotion, to support and participation with staff on Health promotion days.