Excellence Innovation Community Engagement

Members of the EV Community Recognised in the Queens Birthday 2020 Honours List

By June 12, 2020July 13th, 2020No Comments

Dr Laurie Warfe

EV congratulates Dr Laurie Warfe, former EV Board Director, for recognition in the 2020 Queens Birthday Honours List. Laurie received a Medal of the Order of Australia (OAM) for service to medicine and to the community.

Laurie is a past Chair of the Victorian Medical Board of Australia. He served on the Medical Practitioners Board of Victoria from 2005 and then went onto the Medical Board of Australia when AHPRA was formed in 2010.

He practised as a GP in the Melbourne suburb of Frankston for nearly 40 years, working as a practice surveyor and trainer of GP registrars through that time. Laurie was an EV Board Director from 2016-2019.

Merinda Harrison-Drake

Congratulations to Merinda Harrison-Drake on her acknowledgement in the Queen’s Birthday Honours List. Merinda received a Medal (OAM) in the General Division for service to Indigenous health in Gippsland.

Merinda is the Practice Coordinator at the Morwell site of Ramahyuck and District Aboriginal Corporation, an accredited EV training practice. We have worked with Merinda for many years and we are delighted that she has been recognised for the work she does for her community.

Merinda commenced work at Ramahyuck in 2005 and went on to qualify as an Aboriginal Health Practitioner. In 2018 she was promoted to the role of Practice Coordinator. Merinda works closely with EV registrar’s and, in addition to providing clinical and operational support, fulfils the role of cultural mentor.

Merinda describes herself as a proud Yorta Yorta, Gunaikurnai woman who is passionate about Aboriginal health.

EV extends its congratulations to all recipients recognised in this year’s Queen’s Birthday Honours particularly GPs and allied health workers.